Skip to content

England, Doctor Who, Harry Potter, and more…

August 25, 2011

Tonight, I’m honestly at a loss for what to blog about, but since I’m trying to post one every night, I’ll find something to write about.

As I’ve been watching Doctor Who lately, why not blog about that? As you’ll soon find out, I’m extremely obsessed with anything having to do

The Doctor and the amazing Amy Pond.

The Doctor and the amazing Amy Pond

with England or London or whatever like that. I’m not going to say that I know everything about the place, because I don’t. I barely know anything to be truthful. I do know, however, that the place is full of amazing history, they have brilliant accents, and I want to live there some day. No, I’ve never been there, but I plan to visit before moving. That aside, any shows that are English or are based in England, I will watch. Some of these shows include, Are You Being Served?, Keeping Up Appearances, and my newly found love, Doctor Who.

I just started watching the series last night. I’m already over half way finished with the 5th season. Oh don’t patronize me. It’s on my On Demand, so yes, I’m starting with season five. But really, who wouldn’t start with this season!? Karen Gillan is fantastic and I can’t imagine the show without her. Anyways, as I’m writing this, I’m watching the show. Its fantastic, really, and I was surprised because I don’t much get into sci-fi shows at all. The two main characters, The Doctor and Amy, play off each other amazingly well.  Its my first time seeing either act and I think they are both bloody brilliant. I would love to see them in other things.

Harry, Hermonie, and Ron, you could call them my best friends.

Another thing I’m very into that also has to do with England, is Harry Potter. Oh yes, I know some of you will be thinking, “Oh, how childish.” Those of you who think that, can go somewhere. I started reading Harry Potter when I was in third grade. I believe that’s when they were published in the States. Oh yes, 2008. Would I have only been eight years old in third grade? That seems awfully young to me, but apparently that’s the right age. So, I started when they were first published here in the United States. A friend of mine, who sat at the same table as me, passed me the book under the table one day and told me I had to read it because it was so good! Yeah, extreme for eight year olds, right? Not really. I went to a private Lutheran school and the Harry Potter books were strictly forbidden. They weren’t at first, only when all the PTA mom’s read them and freaked out because they were about witchcraft (They all thought that if their children read them, they would think they could be witches and wizards, like really think they could be, not just using their imagination. Puh-leaze.). So anyways, he gave me this book and I started reading it that night, in my bed with a flashlight under my covers because I didn’t want my mom to know. Actually, come to think of it, I never knew her stand point on the books really. I keep getting off topic. I think I read that book in about two weeks. I was enthralled with it! I couldn’t put it down and I wanted to read it over and over again. Of course, now I’m twenty-one years old, I’ve read all of the books multiple times and I can honestly say they are my favorite books in the world. J. K. Rowling has inspired more than anyone in the world, to write and imagine. I could really write so much about Harry Potter. It is one of the things I love most in this world.

And now for some watermelon and coffee, don’t judge me, I wanted both things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 5:51 am

    I completely agree! Doctor Who, Harry Potter, and England. Up there with my most favourite things of all times! I love England so much…my whole room is London themed. I have Big Ben painted on my wall. So yeah, I understand your love for it all!! 😀

  2. Tammy permalink
    September 3, 2011 6:28 am

    Monty Python.
    Yay.

Leave a Reply

